Skip to content

What to do… when your friends leave you

March 21, 2011

It is with immense sadness that I inform the reader of the passing away of what very well may have been the best shaman and paladin duo that Windrunner Horde has yet seen.  The great tauren shaman Dizzae, with her low, mannish /lol and trusty totems, always had a humorous retort and strong heals at the ready.  And her sidekick, the belf paladin Captnmoroni, was always a welcome ally.  With his mastery of his class and tendency to never read the chat, he was a bringer of both doom and salvation to friend and foe alike.  May their spirit forms rest in Orgrimmar in peace.

It saddens me that I must begin my blogging adventures on such a tragic note.   A little background is in order: I have been playing World of Warcraft for a little over two years now.  My sister and her husband had been playing for a few months before WotLK’s launch, and had me try the free trial when I came home over Christmas break.  I immediately fell in love with the game, the world, the lore, and its complexity.

Having never played a mmorpg before, I was also amazed at the socialization inherent in the game.  (Mind you, this was before the dungeon finder tool: one had to communicate with others to experience any form of group content.  I’ll leave my thoughts on how the social aspect of the game has changed for another post!)  One couldn’t help but get to know other players, and the fact that I was stepping into a pre-established ‘group’ of my sister, her husband, and his work buddies, helped me move even faster along this track than the average new player.

WoW helped to keep my sister and me in touch.  It was a source of bonding.  She and I are only 1.5 years apart in age, and as children we were always good friends.  In the midst of our adventures in Azeroth, we shared many enjoyable and touching experiences.

Sadly, my sister and brother-in-law canceled their subscriptions about two weeks ago.  They started playing SCII, so luckily I can still see them occasionally via Blizzard’s RealID system, but it’s not the same.  She can’t see the new cloak I just won, or receive my Stumpy Foot gift in the mail as thanks for the Nubless Pacifier she sent me.  We no longer have a vote-to-kick majority for unruly dps is LFD groups, a strong pre-made battleground node/flag defense group, or decent 3v3 arena team.  The unfortunate Allies who dared to venture into Wintergrasp alone during off-hours will no longer curse our names to the heavens.  We can’t go sit by the Dalaran fountain to take screenshots or play with silly emotes.

*cry*

Sadly I saw this coming.  They had a mixed reaction to Cataclysm, and eventually settled into doing very little after they reached the new level cap on their mains.  They stopped progressing in PvE content, got frustrated with arenas, and finally would only log in to do a few random battlegrounds.  They either quit or never even touched on some of the different tracks or sub-games that makes WoW such a deep experience.  That, in my opinion, is a sure-fire way to experience major burn-out.

Being the selfless, noble blood elf that I am, upon hearing of the dismal news I didn’t express to my sister how much I wished that she’d stay.  She probably knew, anyway, and I didn’t want to make it any harder on her.

Plus, it’s only a stupid game, right…?

Leave a Reply

